New faces on dwpbank’s Board of Management

Frankfurt am Main, 28. November 2013.

  • New Board of Management to consist of Thomas Klanten and Dr. Christian Tonnesen.
  • Dr. Markus Walch and Karl-Martin im Brahm to leave Board of Management.
  • Greater focus to be placed on bank networks.

Deutsche WertpapierService Bank AG (dwpbank) has reshuffled its Board of Management. At its meeting today, the Supervisory Board appointed Thomas Klanten (50) to the bank’s Board of Management. Dr Christian Tonnesen (46) will remain on the Board of Management. Dr Markus Walch, previously Chairman of dwpbank’s Board of Management, and CSO Karl-Martin im Brahm have decided to leave the bank by mutual agreement.

Thomas Klanten, an attorney and experienced executive in the field of transaction banking, will rise to join dwpbank’s Board of Management. He has been with the bank since its formation in 2003, where he has served in executive positions for key operating management functions, and has been an authorised representative (Generalbevollmächtigter) for the past three years. Dr Christian Tonnesen joined dwpbank’s Board of Management in 2011 and has spent that time preparing the bank’s securities service to handle future challenges.

dwpbank intends to further increase the degree of standardisation and automation of its services. As an infrastructure service provider, it will seize on market requirements and implement regulatory developments early on.  On the basis of the standard of service offered, dwpbank aims to win over additional major clients on the German market. By contrast, less focus will be placed on international client acquisition activities.

Wilfried Groos, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of dwpbank, says: “We are confident that thanks to the new duo on dwpbank’s Board of Management, we are extremely well positioned to grapple with the future challenges brought about by further standardising the securities business. We count on experienced executives who have a long relationship with dwpbank and a profound understanding of the needs of our two shareholding bank networks, the German Savings Banks Finance Group (Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe) and the German Cooperative Financial Services Network (Genossenschaftliche FinanzGruppe).”

During their many years on the Board of Management, Dr Markus Walch and Karl-Martin im Brahm were responsible for laying the key groundwork which forms the foundation for dwpbank’s continued success on the market over the years to come. This includes the initiated reorganisation of the IT structure and the considerable expansion of dwpbank’s client base.

Wilfried Groos: “In the past years, Dr Markus Walch and Karl-Martin im Brahm have played an integral role in securing dwpbank’s ability to master future challenges and to cement its position as the leading German transaction bank. We thank them for their valuable contribution and their personal commitment in a challenging time of transition, and wish them the very best in their future endeavours.”

About dwpbank:

Deutsche WertpapierService Bank AG (dwpbank) is the market leader for securities settlement in Germany. It is owned by banks belonging to the German Cooperative Financial Services Network (Genossenschaftliche FinanzGruppe) and the German Savings Banks Finance Group (Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe), which are equal partners.

With approximately 390 direct clients and over 1,500 member banks in total, nearly 75% of all German banks make use of dwpbank’s securities settlement processes and systems.

The transaction bank manages approximately 5.5 million securities accounts across various sectors. It bundles the securities business of the two cooperative central banks of the German Cooperative Financial Services Network, provides more than 85% of the securities services used today by savings banks and state banks (Landesbanken) and is a securities settlement partner for over 30 private and commercial banking institutions.

With approximately 250,000 managed users – investment advisors and bank employees – dwpbank’s central securities settlement platform WP2 is one of the most significant IT applications in the German banking sector.

Contact:

Ralf Droz
Press Officer
Telefon: 069 5099-3359
ralf.droz@dwpbank.de

Internet: www.dwpbank.de

Wechsel im Vorstand der dwpbank

Frankfurt am Main, 28. November 2013.

  • Thomas Klanten und Dr. Christian Tonnesen bilden neuen Vorstand.
  • Dr. Markus Walch und Karl-Martin im Brahm scheiden aus Vorstand aus.
  • Verbundorientierung wird weiter gestärkt.

Die Deutsche WertpapierService Bank AG (dwpbank) ordnet ihren Vorstand neu. Der Aufsichtsrat hat in seiner heutigen Sitzung Thomas Klanten (50) zum neuen Vorstandsmitglied des Unternehmens bestellt. Dr. Christian Tonnesen (46) bleibt unverändert Mitglied des Vorstands. Dr. Markus Walch, bislang Vorstandsvorsitzender der dwpbank, sowie Vertriebsvorstand Karl-Martin im Brahm, verlassen das Unternehmen im besten beiderseitigen Einvernehmen.

Mit Thomas Klanten rückt ein erfahrener Manager aus dem Transactionbanking in den Vorstand der dwpbank auf. Der Jurist war bei der Bank seit deren Gründung im Jahr 2003 in leitenden Positionen für wesentliche operative Steuerungsfunktionen tätig, in den vergangenen drei Jahren als Generalbevollmächtigter. Dr. Christian Tonnesen gehört dem Vorstand der dwpbank bereits seit 2011 an und hat seither den Wertpapierservice zukunftsfähig aufgestellt.

Die dwpbank wird den Standardisierungs- und Automatisierungsgrad ihrer Dienstleistungen weiter erhöhen. Der Infrastrukturdienstleister wird dabei Marktanforderungen und regulatorische Entwicklungen frühzeitig aufgreifen und implementieren.  Auf Basis des angebotenen Standards strebt die dwpbank die Gewinnung von weiteren Großkunden im inländischen Markt an. Hingegen werden internationale Akquisitionstätigkeiten an Bedeutung verlieren.

Wilfried Groos, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates der dwpbank: „Wir sind überzeugt, dass wir mit dem neuen Vorstandsduo der dwpbank bestens aufgestellt sind, um die zukünftigen Herausforderungen in Richtung einer weiteren Standardisierung im Wertpapiergeschäft zu meistern. Wir setzen dabei auf erfahrene Manager, die mit der dwpbank langjährig vertraut sind und ein tiefes Verständnis für die Anforderungen der beiden Eigentümerverbünde, Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe und genossenschaftlichen Finanzverbund, haben.“

Dr. Markus Walch und Karl-Martin im Brahm haben während ihrer mehrjährigen Amtszeit im Vorstandsteam wichtige Weichenstellungen verantwortet, durch die das Fundament für den weiteren Markterfolg der dwpbank in den kommenden Jahren geschaffen wurde. Dazu gehören auch der eingeleitete Umbau der IT-Struktur und der deutliche Ausbau der Kundenbasis der dwpbank.

Wilfried Groos: „Dr. Markus Walch und Karl-Martin im Brahm haben in den vergangenen Jahren erheblich dazu beigetragen, die Zukunftsfähigkeit der dwpbank zu sichern und ihre Stellung als führende deutsche Transaktionsbank zu festigen. Für diesen wertvollen Einsatz und ihr hohes persönliches Engagement in einer herausfordernden Umbruchphase danken wir ihnen sehr und wünschen ihnen für die Zukunft alles Gute.“

 

Über die dwpbank:

Die Deutsche WertpapierService Bank AG (dwpbank) ist Marktführer in der Wertpapierabwicklung. Ihre Eigentümerstruktur setzt sich gleichberechtigt aus Instituten der genossenschaftlichen FinanzGruppe sowie aus der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe zusammen.

Mit rund 400 direkten Kunden und insgesamt fast 1.500 angeschlossenen Instituten nutzen drei Viertel aller Banken in Deutschland die Prozess- und Systemdienstleistungen rund um die Wertpapierabwicklung. Die Transaktionsbank betreut sektorübergreifend mehr als 5,5 Millionen Anlegerdepots. Sie bündelt das Wertpapiergeschäft in der genossenschaftlichen FinanzGruppe über die beiden Zentralbanken und erbringt bereits heute mehr als 80 Prozent der Dienstleistungen im Wertpapierservice für Sparkassen und Landesbanken. Zudem ist die dwpbank Partner in der Wertpapierabwicklung für über 30 Institute im Segment der Privat- und Geschäftsbanken.

Mit rund 250.000 verwalteten Usern – Anlageberater und Mitarbeiter in Kreditinstituten – ist die zentrale dwpbank-Abwicklungsplattform WP2 eine der größten IT-Anwendungen in der deutschen Bankenlandschaft.

Kontakt:

Hilmar Schwarz
Leiter Gremien/Grundsatzfragen/Interne Kommunikation
Telefon: 069 5099-3045
hilmar.schwarz@dwpbank.de

Wechsel im Vorstand der dwpbank
42.4 KiB
Details